Presidential Elections India – Nomination, Voting & Result Date

The term of Indian President Ram Nath Kovind will expire on July 24 this year, and India’s next Presidential Elections India will be elected on July 18. On July 21, the votes will be counted, and the new president will be sworn in on July 25. The presidential election notification will be sent out on June 15, and the deadline to file a nomination will be June 29. On June 30, the papers will be examined. The deadline for withdrawing nomination papers is July 2. Continue reading to know more about Presidential Elections India.

Presidential Elections India


The President of India is elected by members of the Electoral College, which consists of elected Members of Parliament and state assemblies, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry, according to Article 55 of the Constitution. It uses a single transferable vote system and secret ballots to implement the proportional representation system.

Members of Parliament, state assemblies, and legislative council members who have been nominated are not eligible to vote.

“In the Presidential Elections India of 2022, a total of 4,809 electors will vote.” “No political party can impose a whip on its members,” said Rajiv Kumar, the chief election commissioner.

The president is chosen by the Electoral College, which consists of 776 members of Parliament (including members of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha) and 4,033 members of the legislative assemblies, with a total of 4,809 votes cast. The total number of votes cast by members of assemblies is 543,231; the number of votes cast by MPs is 543,200, for a total of 1,086,431.

Nominated members of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, as well as state legislative assemblies, are not eligible to be included in the electoral college and thus are not allowed to vote in the election.

Members of the Electoral College who are nominated to either House of Parliament or State Legislative Assemblies, including the NCT of Delhi and the UT of Puducherry, are not eligible. The Presidential Elections India will be contested by 776 Members of Parliament and 4,033 MLAs this year. A total of 10,86,431 votes have been cast. MLA votes total 5,43,231 and MP votes total 5,43,200.

Presidential Elections India eligibility

To be eligible for the election, a person must be a citizen of India, have reached the age of 35, and be qualified for election to the House of People (Article 58).

If the person holds any profit-making office under the Government of India, the Government of any State, or any local or other authority controlled by any of the state governments, he or she will be ineligible.

Presidential Elections India

Presidential Elections India process

The nomination is the first step in the process. At least 50 electors as proposers and seconders must sign the Presidential candidate’s nomination paper. Importantly, an elector should not sign up to be a proposer or seconder on more than one nomination paper.

A security deposit of $15,000 is required of the candidate. It’s supposed to be done at the same time as the nomination paper.

More than four nomination papers cannot be filed by or on behalf of a candidate, nor can the Returning Officer receive more than four nomination papers.

Presidential Elections India voting Process

The presidential election will be held in Parliament and state legislatures, with the returning officer being the Secretary-General of the Rajya Sabha. MPs vote in Parliament, while MLAs vote in their respective state legislatures.

The election is conducted using proportional voting, which means that the value of each vote varies depending on the number of votes cast. For an MLA vote, the population-based value of each vote is also predetermined. This year’s election will have a total of 4,809 voters, with 776 MPs and 4,033 MLAs.

Since the state of Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two Union Territories — J&K and Ladakh — in 2019, the 16th Presidential election will be the first to be held. The electoral college no longer includes MLAs from the UT of J&K. The 87 MLAs of the State of J&K each received 72 votes in the 2017 Presidential Elections India, giving them a total of 6,264 votes out of a total of 10,98,903 votes.

To stay updated about the Presidential Elections India of 2022 visit this page regularly.

Homepage Click Here

Leave a Comment